The Long Version

Retired broadcast journalist. Blogging helps scratch the itch. Recovering exRepublican – Sober and still Conservative.

Juan Williams is What’s Right About America

leave a comment »

Journalist and correspondent Juan Williams spe...

Image via Wikipedia

Juan Williams is an American journalist and political analyst for Fox News Channel. He also writes for several newspapers including The Washington Post, The New York Times, and The Wall Street Journal and has been published in magazines such as The Atlantic Monthly and Time.

He was a senior news analyst for National Public Radio (NPR) from 1999 until October 2010 when he was fired for sharing his feelings of fear and worry after 9/11 when seeing someone in Muslim dress at an airport.  A move I strongly opposed and felt was completely unwarranted.

Williams has worked as an editorial writer, op-ed columnist, White House correspondent and national correspondent at The Washington Post for 23 years.

Juan Williams is a self-proclaimed Liberal.

And I like Juan Williams.

I rarely agree with Mr. Williams on most political, social, or economic issues, but I have great respect for his opinions because he shows that same respect for mine.   No, I don’t know him nor have I ever met him, but I watch how he interacts with people who share my conservative ideas and beliefs and I see genuineness, openness, and the willingness to consider the other side and look for the points of agreement rather than being so rigid as to ignore any areas where common ground can be reached.

After watching a debate between Williams and any other conservative analyst I always come away with a greater appreciation of his opinions and his way of making them known, regardless of whether I agree.  He drives me crazy most of the time, but that’s probably because I wish he was on my side.

If more people on all sides of the political spectrum had the integrity of Juan Williams we wouldn’t be in the mess we are in with the political and social divide we have today.

Leave a Reply

